A guest blog by Helen from Republic in the North-West.

The first leafleting event I ever took part in was in the city centre of Sheffield, in the summer of last year. I was a fairly new member of Republic but was keen to show my support and get involved and so I nervously ventured out for the first time onto the streets, with Republic Yorkshire. 

As a leafleting virgin (I had never actively campaigned for anything before) I was apprehensive as to what the reaction from the general public would be. As it turns out, I needn’t have worried! I was put with someone more experienced and we leafleted in pairs, always in each other’s sight, which was reassuring in case anyone did have any questions that stumped me or wanted to know further details about us.

I remember being quite worried that people would shout or swear at me! No one likes receiving verbal abuse, but nevertheless I was determined not to let my probably irrational fear stop me from sticking up for what I passionately believe in.

I am happy to say that the whole thing turned out to be a rather pleasant experience! The worst any one said to me was a firm “No Thank you”, about 80% of those approached were happy to take a leaflet off me and in a very short space of time three people had stopped to chat to me expressing further interest and a willingness to join Republic. On top of that, I met some nice fellow members and had a good chat in the pub afterwards.

I found the whole thing rather liberating. It was great to see the positive public reaction to the campaign and it spurred me on to get more actively involved. It was also nice to connect with other republicans to discuss ideas, latest news and current issues.

Since then I have volunteered at numerous Republic leafleting events throughout the region and have also coordinated them myself.

No one has ever shouted or sworn at me, no one has intimidated me or been rude and no one has ever thrown the leaflets on the floor! In fact I would say that with every leafleting event I volunteer at the response from the public get more and more positive, so I would say we are definitely getting our message out there!

In case any of you are concerned, it is completely legal for us to hand out leaflets in public areas as long as we are not harassing anyone, being aggressive or causing an obstruction. More information on this can be found here (see paragraph 1, (4), b) which states that ‘nothing in this paragraph applies to the distribution of printed matter…  where the distribution is for political purposes or for the purposes of a religion or belief’.

We are now expanding our leafleting sessions to also include the display of banners to make ourselves more visible. We are also using tables to display information about our campaign as well as our leaflets and relevant press articles. It is possible to do this as we now have more and more supporters volunteering for leafleting sessions and so have more people to man the desks as it were! Things are really taking off and thanks to all the supporters who have attended events already. You make it happen!

Of course we need all the help we can get though and I urge all republicans to attend a local Republic leafleting event (or set up one yourself if there isn’t anything happening in your local area, it’s really easy and Republic will advise you on how to do this). It is a great and worthy way to spend a few spare hours and you will see for yourself what the real attitude of the general public is towards the British monarchy. It is most definitely not what the palace PR machine would have you believe. There is real enthusiasm out there for positive change.

Come out onto the streets and feel part of something growing, something good! And if you come to one of our group’s leafleting sessions, there may also be cake!!

Helen

North West Republic events coordinator

 If you’d like to write an article for us, please send it to britishrepublicanblog@gmail.com